Dolcetto Rotweine

Dolceto Red Wines

Filter

    tannin accentuated, fresh, lively, dry

    The Dolcetto wine is one of the favorite wines of the Piedmontese and is part of almost every meal in Piedmont. The Dolcetto is grown everywhere in Piedmont and this widespread use underlines the great appreciation and importance of this autochthonous and for centuries im Piedmont cultivated red wine variety.

    Mehr lesen

    Dolcetto wines from Piedmont

    However, the best Dolcetto wines come from certain growing areas due to the soil and weather conditions. These include the Dolcetto wines from the Alba, Dogliani, Diano D'Alba and Ovada growing areas.

    As far as the name Dolcetto is concerned, it is interesting that it is still not clear how the name of this red wine variety actually came about. Especially since the chosen name Dolcetto can also be very misleading. Because dolche means sweet in Italian, and Dolcetto wine is anything but a sweet wine. The most common explanation of why Dolcetto is called Dolcetto is that when the berries of the Dolcetto vine have reached their phenolic ripeness, these berries taste insanely sweet. The wine itself is pleasantly dry.

    Traditionally, the Dolcetto is drunk young and impresses with its freshness and fruity aroma. This wine is low in acid, but tannin-heavy and usually has a slightly bitter but very pleasant almond note in the aftertaste. Even if the locals continue to see the Dolcetto as the everyday country wine, the style of the Dolcetto wine has evolved thanks to the initiative of some winegrowers.

    For several years, Dolcetto grapes have also been used to produce very high-quality and long-lasting wines with complexity, full-bodiedness and balance.

Dolcetto Rotweine

Dolcetto Rotweine

Filtern

    tanninbetont, frisch, lebendig, trocken

    Der Dolcetto Wein zählt zu den Lieblingsweinen der Piemonteser und gehört im Piemont fast zu jeder Mahlzeit. Überall im Piemont wird der Dolcetto angebaut und  diese große Verbreitung unterstreicht die große Wertschätzung und Bedeutung dieser autochthonen und seit Jahrhunderten im Piemont kultivierten Rotweinsorte.

    Mehr lesen

    Dolcetto Weine aus dem Piemont

    Die besten Dolcetto Weine stammen jedoch aufgrund der Bodenbeschaffenheit und der Witterungsbedingungen aus bestimmten Anbaugebieten. Dazu zählen die Dolcetto-Weine aus den Anbaugebieten Alba, Dogliani, Diano D'Alba und Ovada.

    Was den Namen Dolcetto betrifft, steht bis heute interessanterweise nicht eindeutig fest, wie eigentlich der Name dieser Rotweinsorte zustande gekommen ist. Zumal der ausgewählte Name Dolcetto auch sehr irreführend sein kann. Denn dolche bedeutet im Italienischen süß, und der Dolcetto Wein ist alles andere als ein süßer Wein. Die gängigste Erklärung warum der Dolcetto Dolcetto heißt ist die, dass wenn die Beeren der Dolcetto Rebe ihre phenolische Reife erreicht haben, diese Beeren wahnsinnig süß schmecken. Der Wein selbst ist jedoch angenehm trocken.

    Traditionsgemäß wird der Dolcetto jung getrunken und besticht durch seine Frische und fruchtiges Aroma. Dieser Wein ist säurearm, jedoch tanninbetont und hat im Nachhall meist eine leicht bittere, aber sehr angenehme Mandelnote. Auch wenn der Dolcetto bei den Einheimischen weiterhin als täglicher Landwein gesehen wird, hat sich die Stilistik des Dolcetto Weins aufgrund der Initiative einiger Winzer weiter entwickelt.

    Seit einigen Jahren werden aus der Dolcetto Traube auch sehr hochwertige und langlebige Weine mit Komplexität, Vollmundigkeit und Ausgewogenheit hergestellt.